Gun Control

Amendment II
“A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.”
The tragic shooting in AZ a few weeks ago has brought out all sides of the argument for and against gun control. This is not a simple issue to resolve and every American has a different opinion on the issue. Our founders never envisioned the types of weapons that exist today and common sense needs to be part of the discussion.
My feelings have changed over the years and I am not ashamed to say that for years I thought that control on all types of guns where necessary and needed.
We need to carefully debate and consider all sides of the issue.
I am more against the federal government having a listing of gun owners than I am in restricting the sales of guns to certain individuals (convicted felons, those under 21, and those indicated as mentally ill by involuntary commitment) .
I am not imposed to high excise taxes placed on the gun makers for guns used other than for hunting game. Nor am I imposed to a 4 -5 day waiting period on guns other than those used for hunting.

Comments are closed.